

DATA		COLOU	COLOUR RECOMMENDATIONS					
		Colour	Pantone	С	М	Y	Κ	
Usage:	National flag	Red	210c	0	91	76	6	
Ratio:	2:3	Green	24c	60	0	40	40	
Adopted:	10 Mar 1886	Blue	218c	60	0	80	20	
Abolished:	08 Dec 1892							
Designer:	-							

HISTORY AND SYMBOLISM

From the year 1876, a small Republic - Klein Vrystaat - existed, approximately 12 mile from Piet Retief. It cosisted of the present Piet Retief district, together with a sharp point into Swaziland.

In May 1876, Franz Ignatius Maritz and Joachim Johan Ferreira approached Umbandino, the Swazi King, to discuss the possibility of the purchase of a piece of land. The latter received permission from Rudolph, the magistrate in Utrecht and on 10 Jul 1876, the deed of sale for 15 000 morgen of land was completed.

Initially the Republic had no formal Government, but in 1886, a triumvirate or *Comité* was formed. This comprised JJ Bezedenhout, as chairman or President, WA du Plessis and AEL Botha. The seat of Government was the farm *Vaalkop*, where the President lived. On 10 Mar 1886, the constitution or *Instructie van voor het Comité*, consisting of 30 articles, was drafted and ratified.

The Transvaal *Vierkleur* was also declared to be the flag of the Klein Vrystaat. According to Mrs. D Krige, a granddaughter of the President. Her grandmother, i.e. Mrs. Bezedenhout, sewed together the panels of the flag on her chain stitch machine. The material for the flag was bought by the President himself, as is evident from *Lijs van Inkomsten en Uitgaven* (List of income and expenditure). It was bought from Freeman, a shopkeeper in the Republic for 8/-.

The Klein Vrystaat was not brought into existence for the purpose of continuing as an independent Republic, but to be incorporated into the Zuid - Afrikaansche Republiek, as is evident from the deed of cession, dated 27 Oct 1888. "Further we declare in our capacity as above, that we hereby instruct the aforementioned JJ Ferreira to request the Government of the Zuid - Afrikaansche Republiek to annex the land described above as part of the Zuid - Afrikaansche Republiek, for the following reasons: A) Because not a single Swazi subject lives on it. B) Because so many white subjects of the Republic already reside on it" Contd..